who are we?

Zokolachocolate

“C’est du Zokola”!

The name 'Zokola' is pronounced with an emphasis on the last syllable and refers to a childish pronunciation of the French word 'chocolat"' 

This has not least to do with the location of our company: 5 km from the French border. The name also appeals to our passion for this delicious product.

 

Sylvie Allaeys & Bart Devos
2007 Sylvie Allaeys

De start als zelfstandige

In 2006 & 2007 Sylvie Allaeys followed the "Chocolatier" training in Syntra West. Soon she received the first orders from friends and family, which pushed her more and more towards “an independent company”. In October 2007 she became a chocolatier as a secondary profession

2008 van hobby naar beroep

EERSTE ATELIER

In October 2008, after a year of chocolate production in another location with the necessary worries, it was decided to renovate to create our own "modest" workshop.

2011 Eerste streekproduct!

Poperings Hommelknopje

In 2011, Sylvie decides to go full-time for her chocolate business. Initially, sales are mainly through weekly markets. After the purchase of a vendor van, in the second half of 2012, it was also used as a shop. In September 2011, the idea raises to go all out for regional products with the launch of ' Belgian hopcones' on the occasion of the 3-yearly Hop Festival in Poperinge. This regional praline will be the first recognized 100% West Flemish regional product from Zokola.

Poperingse Hommelknopjes, een chocolade streekproduct door Zokola
2012 Tweede erkende streekproduct

Chocolate Poppy

With the start of the WWI commemorative events, the idea of ​​making the Chocolate Poppy also grows. With the permission of The Royal British Legion Zokola designs a replica of the paper version. This tasty and beautiful praline sees the light in early November 2012.

Chocolate Poppies, een chocolade streekproduct door Zokola
2013 rabarberpraline

De stap naar retail

At the beginning of 2013, her husband Bart Devos joined the business. '100% West- Flemish' gave the opportunity to supply Carrefour for the regional products department. This made them take the step towards supplying more and more to the retail sector. Also in this year, the Warandehof & Zokola find each other in the creation of a rhubarb praline. The third recognized regional product!

Barbelientjes, een chocolade streekproduct door Zokola
2016

Chocozoenen

Gradually, the Zokola products were sold more and more in retail. One of the top products turns out to be the Angel kisses. These were first purchased. In 2016 Zokola decided to produce them himself. This turned out to be a hit! The Angel kisses also found their way to wholesalers, creating a larger market for the company. In the meantime, more than 30 varieties are already on the market. The work volume is increasing and it is therefore decided to hire a part-time worker Anja who proved to be multi-deployable: she is performant in both sections: packaging and in production!

2017

Suikervrij

The realization is gradually growing that niche markets must be sought. In retail and wholesale, the need for sugar-free chocolate is remarkably increasing. The assortment is expanding very quickly.

Suikervrije chocolade door Zokola
2020

De continue groei

The work continues to increase. In the spring of 2020, the team will be reinforced on a part-time basis by the young power & chocolatier Sven, who will join the company. Larger customers are attracted, new products developed

2021

het nieuwe atelier

2021 is a decisive year for Zokola. In the summer, the workplace & packing area are tripled in size. Sven is recruited full-time in September 2021. In November of that year, Laïcha joins to support packaging and production.

2022

de toekomst

This year we have big plans to invest in a larger machine park with new options, products & packaging. In this way we are steadily growing and the future looks bright. Keep following us!

Top

qui sommes nous?

ZokolaChocolade

“C’est du Zokola”!

Le nom 'Zokola' se prononce en mettant l'accent sur la dernière syllabe et fait référence à une prononciation enfantine du mot français 'chocolat' 

Cela tient notamment à la localisation de notre entreprise : à 5 km de la frontière française. Le nom fait également appel à notre passion pour ce délicieux produit.

 

Sylvie Allaeys & Bart Devos
2007 Sylvie Allaeys

De start als zelfstandige

En 2006 & 2007, Sylvie Allaeys a suivi la formation "Chocolatier" à Syntra West. Très vite, elle reçoit les premières commandes de ses amis et de sa famille, ce qui la pousse de plus en plus vers "une entreprise indépendante". En octobre 2007, elle devient chocolatière en activité complémentaire.

2008 van hobby naar beroep

EERSTE ATELIER

En octobre 2008, après une année de production de chocolat délocalisé avec les soucis adéquates, il a été décidé de rénover pour créer notre propre atelier 'modeste'

2011 Eerste streekproduct!

Poperings Hommelknopje

En 2011, Sylvie décide de devenir chocolatier à plein temps. Initialement, les ventes se faisaient principalement aux marchés hebdomadaires. Après l'achat d'une remorque de vente, au second semestre de 2012, elle a également été utilisé comme magasin. En septembre 2011, l'idée est née de miser sur les produits régionaux avec le lancement du 'Cône d'houblon de Poperinghe' à l'occasion des fêtes triennaux de l'houblon à Poperinge. Cette praline régionale sera le premier produit régional reconnu 100% Flandre occidentale de Zokola.

Poperingse Hommelknopjes, een chocolade streekproduct door Zokola
2012 Tweede erkende streekproduct

Chocolate Poppy

Avec le début des événements commémoratifs de la Première Guerre mondiale, l'idée de fabriquer le Poppy en chocolat grandit également, Avec la permission de la Royal British Legion, Zokola développe une réplique de la version papier. Cette savoureuse et belle praline voit le jour début novembre 2012.

Chocolate Poppies, een chocolade streekproduct door Zokola
2013 rabarberpraline

De stap naar retail

Début 2013, son mari Bart Devos rejoint l'entreprise. '100% Flamand occidental' a donné l'opportunité d'approvisionner Carrefour pour le rayon produits régionaux. Cela a poussé Zokola à approvisionner de plus en plus le secteur de la vente au détail. Cette année-là également, le Warandehof & Zokola se retrouvent dans la création d'une praline à la rhubarbe. Le troisième produit régional reconnu !

Barbelientjes, een chocolade streekproduct door Zokola
2016

Chocozoenen

Petit à petit, les produits Zokola se sont de plus en plus vendus au détail. L'un des meilleurs produits s'avère être les mélos. Ceux-ci ont d'abord été achetés. En 2016, Zokola a décidé de les produire lui-même. Cela s'est avéré être un succès! Les mélos ont également été appréciés par les grossistes, créant un marché plus vaste pour l'entreprise. En ce moment, plus de 30 variétés sont déjà sur le marché. Le volume de travail augmente et il est donc décidé d'embaucher une ouvrière à temps partiel, Anja, qui s'est avérée multi-déployable : elle tient bon tant à l'emballage qu'à la production !

2017

Suikervrij

On se rend progressivement compte qu'il faut rechercher des marchés de niche. Dans le commerce de détail et de grossiste, la demande de chocolat sans sucre est de plus en plus fréquente. La gamme s'étend très rapidement.

Suikervrije chocolade door Zokola
2020

De continue groei

Le travail continue d'augmenter. Au printemps 2020, l'équipe sera renforcée à temps partiel par le jeune homme & chocolatier Sven, qui rejoindra l'entreprise. Des plus grands clients sont attirés, des nouveaux produits sont développés

2021

het nieuwe atelier

2021 devient une année décisive pour Zokola. En été, l' atelier et la zone d'emballage sont triplés en surface. Sven est recruté à temps plein en septembre 2021. En novembre de la même année, Laïcha nous rejoint pour soutenir l'emballage et la production.

2022

de toekomst

Cette année, nous avons de grands projets d'investissement dans un parc de machines plus grand avec de nouvelles options, produits et emballages. De cette façon, nous grandissons progressivement et l'avenir s'annonce prometteur. Continuez à nous suivre !

Top